Ann Marie – Bilingual English and Spanish Tutor


Hello everyone! I am from Puerto Rico but living in Northern Virginia. I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in English Linguistics and Communication. As well as a Master’s Degree in Italian Cultural Studies. I also have a certification in Teaching English as a Foreign Language/ Teaching English to Speakers of other languages from the International TEFL Academy.

My career started as a Spanish tutor and other subjects for students from elementary schools in Puerto Rico. Then, I moved to Paterson, New Jersey as an AmeriCorps volunteer where I worked as a youth assistant in a middle school and a group leader in an after-school program made of elementary and middle school students. Accomplishing a lifelong dream of living in Asia, I moved to Daegu, South Korea where I taught English for two years to students in both elementary and middle school. In early 2019, I worked as an Au Pair, in Milan, Italy along with being an online English tutor to adults from countries such as; China, Japan, Taiwan, South Korea, Vietnam, Turkey, and the Middle East.

Being a language teacher has allowed me to meet people from all over the world and this is one of the things I appreciate the most. My students say that I am friendly and full of energy during my classes. I tend to format my language lessons with a fun and positive vibe. During my classes, I encourage my students to travel, and learn about art, and cinematography so that they realize how marvelous it is to discover different cultures.
I hope to meet all of you soon either to practice Spanish or English :slight_smile:

Hola a todos! Soy de Puerto Rico, pero vivo en el norte de Virginia muy cerca de Washington, D.C. Tengo un Bachillerato en Lingüística y Comunicación en Ingles y una certificación para ensenar Inglés como lengua extranjera y/o a parlantes de otros idiomas de International TEFL Academy. Ademas, tengo una maestria en estudios culturales italianos de Middlebury College.

Mi carrera dio inicio como tutora de Español y otras materias para niños de escuela elemental en Puerto Rico. Luego, me mude a Paterson, New Jersey como voluntaria del Programa Americorps en el cual trabaje como asistente de la juventud en una escuela intermedia y líder de grupo en un programa extracurricular para estudiantes de escuela elemental e intermedia. Cumpliendo uno de mis sueños, de vivir en Asia, me mude a Daegu, Corea del Sur en donde enseñe Ingles por dos años a estudiantes de escuela elemental e intermedia. En el 2019 trabaje como au pair (niñera) en Milan, Italia y online como tutora de Ingles para adultos de China, Japón, Taiwan, Corea, Vietnam, Turquía y el Medio Oriente.

Ser maestra de idiomas me ha permitido conocer personas de todas partes del mundo y esto es una de las cosas que más aprecio. Mis estudiantes dirían que soy simpática y con mucha energía en mis clases. Me gusta fomentar el aprendizaje de idiomas en un ambiente divertido y positivo. Fomento el viajar, el arte y la cinematografía en mis estudiantes para que sepan lo maravilloso que es conocer diferentes culturas.
Espero conocerlos pronto para aprender y practicar ya sea Español que Ingles :slight_smile:


Hallo Marie, how are you?

Hello! I am good and you?

Hi @Pepap how have you been? Are you still learning here in Chatterbug?

Hi Ann,
on Saturday we speak about human and nature. It is okay for you?

1 Like

Hi! Yes, that works for me. Thank you

Sorry Ann for cancellation the lesson on Sunday. I have another appointment. We speak about it the next time.

@Elena_U I see that you needed live lessons for 4/28. I won’t be available from 4/25 to 4/30 but I’ll be back after that. Hope to see you after 4/30, thanks!